Staff, Board Member Recognized by ISBE

Staff, Board Member Recognized by ISBE
Posted on 10/21/2019
The Illinois State Board of Education recognized several Waukegan Public Schools staff members, and a Board of Education Member, during its annual “Those Who Excel” awards banquet last weekend.
ISBE honored District # 60 educators in four different categories during the awards program. The “Those Who Excel” awards recognize teachers, administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteers, board members and education teams from across the state doing exemplary work. Awards are given in one of seven categories, and are broken up into three levels.
Board of Education Vice President, Mr. Michael Rodriguez, was recognized by ISBE with an Award of Merit in the School Board Member category. 

Melissa Wise, a third grade teacher at Greenwood Elementary School, was also awarded an Award of Merit in the Classroom Teacher category 

Another Award of Merit winner was Ami Montalbano, a Paraprofessional/ Educational Assistant at Cooke Magnet School. Ms. Montalbano was recognized in the Educational Service Personnel category. 

Finally, in the Team category, Carman-Buckner Elementary School’s Instructional Leadership Team earned an Award of Merit. Team members include:  Marcian Galazkiewicz, Beth Bacci, Allie Lichtenstein, Carolina Antezano, Edith Galvan, Jennifer Van Ornum, Elzbieta Kowal, Sarah Kazanow, Robert Silva, Jill Kronowitz, Bryant Rice, Therese Hotze, Deborah Navarro, and Lara Kiddle. 

“All of our award winners are very deserving of these recognitions. It is great to see the State Board honor the wonderful educators we have here in Waukegan,” said Superintendent of Schools, Theresa Plascencia. 

those who excel

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.