Waukegan High School Honors 2024 Senior Athletes

Waukegan High School Honors 2024 Senior Athletes
Posted on 05/08/2024
Waukegan High School honored more than 70 student-athletes during its annual Senior Sports Awards program on Tuesday, May 7. The awards ceremony recognized athletes in 27 sports for their achievements on the field and in the classroom.

This year’s female and male athletes of the year were: Noelani Rodriguez and Landon Diaz.

Noelani was a standout on the girls' wrestling team and a member of the softball and track teams. As a wrestler, she won more than 75 % of her matches, while earning North Suburban Conference All-Conference honors three times. She was also a two-time State qualifier.

Landon has been a 4-year varsity player who has been all-conference the last two seasons. He has played a variety of positions throughout his time at Waukegan and is the team captain this season. He holds the school record for career kills and season kills for his performance this year.

The winner of the Mabel Holle Award, which is given annually to a female athlete who exemplifies leadership in the classroom and the playing field, was Andrea Palma Carazo. Andrea was a multi-year varsity athlete on the tennis and badminton teams. Her coaches applauded her positive attitude, competitive nature, and desire to succeed. Andrea was also heavily involved in other extracurriculars, including work with the Principal Advisory Committee and Student Council.

The winner of the Leo Singer Award, which is given annually to a male athlete who demonstrates fair, dedicated, and honest sportsmanship, was Charles ‘CJ” Robinson. CJ was a varsity football player and track athlete. He was football team MVP, and a 2-time NSC conference sportsmanship winner. He was honored for his remarkable sportsmanship, for having exceptional character, and for his respectful and considerate approach to the game.

WHS also honored two student-athletes with the Marines Distinguished Athlete Award, which is given to student-athletes who are exemplary role models for younger students and have exhibited courage, poise, self-confidence, and leadership while performing on the field of play. The winners were Ethan Rodriguez (boys basketball) and Jennifer Perez. (girls wrestling).

10 senior athletes were recognized for making All-Conference honors in their respective sports: All-Conference selection included: Ezekiel May (Soccer), Alexis Guadarraman (Soccer), Landon Diaz (Volleyball), Alex Frias (Volleyball), Nehemiah Dunn (Basketball), Noelani Rodriguez (Track, Wrestling), Jennifer Perez (Wrestling), Abria Cadle (Cheer), Kailey Kilpatrick (Cheer), Ashlee Paz (Cheer)

23 students were named North Suburban Conference Sportsmanship Award winners. They included: Saul Rodriguez, Gianna Godinez, Jose Popoca, Bryanna Gonzalez, Bryan Pedraza, Regina Rosales, Ethan Rodriguez, Alani Lino, Sienna Washington, Mauricio Vega , William Grenier, Camila Hurtado, Leila Garza, Josue Montes De Oca-Montero, Jennifer Perez, Erik Hernandez, Bryanna Gonzalez, Fernando Campos, Eshanti Brown, Rema Manzamero, Savanna Kriston, CJ Robinson, and Abner Flores Morales.

Six seniors who were named North Suburban Conference Scholar Athletes were also recognized. Those athletes were: Tava Perry, Yanelle Fernandez-Nunoz, Sienna Washington, Aleyshka, Alejandro Frias, and Taniah Payne.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.